THE CHRISTMAS PIE

Traditional American Apple Pie

Traditional American Apple Pie

Tonight we are invited to dinner at the home of a native Ecuadorian woman whom I met recently. Her name is Margarita. It will be a Traditional Ecuadorian Christmas Dinner for her family (and us) and it will include her 104 year old mother! I’m really looking forward to learning more about what a Traditional Ecuadorian Christmas Feast is like.

When I asked what I could bring, Margarita said, “Please bring A Traditional American Dessert!” “Well!” I thought to myself, “What could be more of a Traditional American Dessert than An Apple Pie?!”

The funny thing is, (or NOT so funny depending on how you look at it?!), even though I have made this same pie hundreds and HUNdreds of times over the years, this morning when I got up I could NOT, for the LIFE of me, remember the recipe for EITHER my trusty “No Fail Pie Crust” or the ingredients for “The Apple Pie?!”

This morning, when I thought of what else I could possible make, I realized I didn’t have ANY of the ingredients. The grocery store was an hour bus ride, there and back. I reeeeally did not want to face Christmas Eve Shopping Madness in ANY country today.

All I could think of was, “Uh Oh. This dessert if I just make it up is going to be a Culinary Disaster!”

So I sent an urgent SOS to my daughter, Sarah. Fortunately, she found an old email from 2009 when I had sent HER the very same recipes when SHE was away from home! So Thank God she was able to send me both of the recipes I needed today or I would have been totally SUNK.

I’m feeling SO grateful for My Daughter right now! Thank you Sarah! xoxox

Traditional Apple Pie #2

Traditional Apple Pie #2

PS: Would you like more ACCURATE, AUTHENTIC and UP TO DATE INFORMATION about ECUADOR?

WORDS TO THRIVE BY FOR WORLD TRAVELERS: FOOTPRINTS IN ECUADOR by Mary Anne Dorward

Screen Shot 2015-06-08 at 2.37.38 pm

Note: All photos in “Footprints in Ecuador: An American Woman’s Life Changing Journey” have been taken by Mary Anne Dorward. All photos and writing on this blog are protected under the U.S. Trademark: Words To Thrive By.  Please do not copy or reproduce any part of these blogs without express permission from Mary Anne Dorward. For more information or to schedule and inspirational speech or interview, please contact Mary Anne at ma@maryannedorward.com.)

Leave a Reply

