ECUADOR: New Years Eve 2013 ~ Monigote Fires and Fireworks

Monigotes Burning A Few Minutes Before Midnight

Monigotes Burning A Few Minutes Before Midnight

A few minutes before midnight on New Years Eve, bonfires began appearing out in the streets and all down the beach. People began throwing their 2013 Monigotes on the fire (See photo above) to officially end “El Año Viejo” or “The Old Year” here in Ecuador.

I had already stuffed “Junior,” my 2013 Monigote, with everything bad that I could think of that had happened in my life during 2013. “Junior” was stuffed to the gills and I could hardly get any more slips of paper into his mouth:

"Junior" Being Stuffed With What I Was Leaving Behind From 2013

“Junior” Being Stuffed With What I Was Leaving Behind From 2013

I took him down to the street just off the beach. There, I was welcomed by the caretakers of my building who generously shared their Monigote fire. Their Monigote’s had already burned so they offered to help me burn mine.

I kicked “Junior” a few times really hard, as is the custom here, to really get any last bit of bad stuff out of my heart from 2013.

"Junior" Lit On Fire

“Junior” Lit On Fire

It was very interesting. “Junior” at first refused to light. It was as if “Junior” was hanging on and 2013 was refusing to go. I took up a stick and began beating “Junior” and he still refused to light.  The Caretakers commented on this and so they took up sticks too to help. They prodded “Junior” as I beat on him. Finally “Junior” caught fire.

Mary Anne Beating On 2013

Mary Anne Beating On 2013

The smoke was huge from the fire. And still,”Junior” took quite awhile to burn down. Most Monigotes take just a few minutes to totally burn down. “Junior” was still flaming after 20 minutes. I guess there was a lot I was letting go of from 2013!!

"Junior" And The Year 2013 Finally Letting Go

“Junior” And The Year 2013 Finally Letting Go

Eventually, “Junior” and 2013 “El Año Viejo” were no more. 2013 was officially OVER for me! Whoo! Hoo!

2013 ~ "El Año Viejo" ~ Is No More

2013 ~ “El Año Viejo” ~ Is No More

There were fireworks for some time up and down the beach along with firecrackers and cherry bombs and lots of other things that went, “BOOM!” in the night:

Monigote Fire 2013

Monigote Fire 2013

2013 Monigote Fire and Fireworks, Ecuador

2013 Monigote Fire and Fireworks, Ecuador

PS: Would you like more ACCURATE, AUTHENTIC and UP TO DATE INFORMATION about ECUADOR?

WORDS TO THRIVE BY FOR WORLD TRAVELERS: FOOTPRINTS IN ECUADOR by Mary Anne Dorward

Screen Shot 2015-06-08 at 2.37.38 pm

2 thoughts on “ECUADOR: New Years Eve 2013 ~ Monigote Fires and Fireworks

  1. hey! feliz ano, and welcome to the great traditions of ecuador! the end-of-year effigy burning is my favorite!
    i try to be home by midnight and have my own quiet burning ceremony. i noted that the paper did not want to burn, and that’s usually a sign of very-near rain. i’m not sure what time the rains arrived, but yes, we had a nice shower later in the night!

    happy new year and thanks for the pingback!!
    lisa/z

    Like

    • Happy New Year to You too Lisa! You are most welcome for the ping back. Well deserved for sure! I actually just left a comment at your wonderful website! Great!

      Thanks again for your warm welcome to Ecuador. It’s been quite an adjustment for me.

      I hope your quiet ceremony was nice for you this year. Hope to meet you too in this New Year!

      Un gran embrazo,
      Mary Anne

      Like

Leave a Reply

