Becoming A World Citizen And Why It’s Important: PART 1

Dancing Through Life

Dancing Through Life

What does it mean to become a “World Citizen” and why is it important?

Freedom

First of all, I believe that every person deserves the right to live in a place where they are safe and can live a healthy life, where they (and their money) are treated well and where they have the opportunity to grow in both their life and the business of their choosing.

This is what freedom really means to me.

People accept limiting beliefs

I’ve discovered over the years that many people live with a very limiting belief. It’s the belief that they must completely identify with and stay living in the place where they were born.

People see themselves as “A Canadian” and they may travel outside Canada a bit here and there, but they live for the better part of their lives in Canada. Or people grow up thinking of themselves as “An American” and even if they are unhappy with their government or the rising cost of living, they stay the majority of there entire lives living only in the United States.

I rarely hear someone referring to himself or herself as “A World Citizen.” Why is that?

I could never do what you are doing!

Here are some of the comments and objections that I have heard from various people since I moved to Ecuador:

  1. I could never do what you are doing.
  2. I don’t have the courage or freedom to do what you’re doing.
  3. I wouldn’t like it living in another country.
  4. I can’t leave my work and my family.
  5. Why would I even want to do that? I like it here where I am.
  6. Better “The Devil” I do know here than exchanging it for a “Devil I don’t know” by moving there.
  7. I don’t trust foreign governments. My government will always take care of me here.
  8. Why would I ever want to uproot from everything I know and am familiar with? I’m quite comfortable where I am.
  9. What about my children and friends? I would not get to see them as often as I would want to if I moved somewhere else far away.
  10. I wouldn’t have any friends.
  11. But I don’t speak the language. I’d have no one to talk to there.
  12.  Isn’t it dangerous there? How would I ever keep myself safe?
  13. What would I do with myself all day there?
  14. I’d feel like an outsider if I moved to another country.
  15. It’s a little too far away for me. I want to be able to go home whenever I want.
  16. What would I do with all my stuff I have here if I moved there?

Home isn’t where we are. Home is what we’re used to.

As I have listened to these concerns of my friends and family over the past few months, it struck me that feeling a sense of Home isn’t about “where we are” so much as it is “what we are used to.”

One day, early on, when I was whining to my son about feeling out of place here in Ecuador, he suggested that I consider the fact that I was creating a new definition for myself about what “Home” meant to me. He also shared that he thought that this was actually very brave on my part and he felt that both he and his sister could learn a lot from my taking this bold step in my life.

Creating new definitions of “Self” and the thought of making another country “Home” can be very unsettling

Creating new definitions of one’s “Self” in the world and the thought of making another country “Home” can be very unsettling for many people.  That certainly has been very true for me. But I’m convinced that if one human being can do something, then everyone else has the capacity to do it too.

The truth is that the opportunity to make a profound change, either within ourselves or in the place we choose to live, is available to each and every one of us in any moment if we will but give it a try.

Tomorrow: PART 2: What does it take to become a “World Citizen?”

PS: Would you like more ACCURATE, AUTHENTIC and UP TO DATE INFORMATION about ECUADOR?

WORDS TO THRIVE BY FOR WORLD TRAVELERS: FOOTPRINTS IN ECUADOR by Mary Anne Dorward

Screen Shot 2015-06-08 at 2.37.38 pm

RELATED POSTS AND LINKS:

  • Becoming A World Citizen And Why It’s Important: PART 2: http://wp.me/p47vLx-eN
  • Additional Links:
    • For More on the Life and Work of Mary Anne Dorward, please go to: www.maryannedorward.com
    • For Professional Speaking Coaching and Speech Writing, please go to: www.myrealvoice.com or for video http://bit.ly/1fmLjuL
    • To Learn more about my book, “Words To Thrive By: Powerful Stories of Courage and Hope,” please go to: www.wordstothriveby.com or  for video http://bit.ly/1hlyGoc
    • To Buy The Book, go to Amazon: http://amzn.to/L9NYkl
    • Note: All photos in “Footprints in Ecuador: An American Woman’s Life Changing Journey” have been taken by Mary Anne Dorward. All photos and writing on this blog are protected under the U.S. Trademark: Words To Thrive By.  For more information, to schedule an inspirational speech or interview, please contact Mary Anne at ma@maryannedorward.com.
Leave a Reply

