ECUADOR: Grocery Shopping

Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Living at the beach allows me the solitude and the beautiful view from my window that I love. But you can’t get great groceries at the beach. There are only very small family owned stores, called “Tiendas,” which supply only the very basics.

So this means that I’ve had to embrace a very different weekly “Grocery Adventure” in my life now.

Supermaxi Grocery Store: Portoviejo, Ecuador

Supermaxi Grocery Store: Portoviejo, Ecuador

Taking an hour bus ride into town for groceries allows me to shop at a more modern sophisticated grocery store by U.S. standards. The best grocery store to get most of what you need is called, “Supermaxi.”

Below are some interior photos of a recent trip to Supermaxi in Cumbaya, Ecuador. As you can see, it looks like a more modern grocery store in other parts of the world:

Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Vegetables and Fruits: Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Meats and Chicken: Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Wine: Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Cheese and Olives: Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Juice: Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Freezer Section of Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Freezer Section of Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Pasta Section: Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Condiments: Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Eggs: Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Eggs: Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Milk: Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Milk: Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Refridgerated Section: Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

Rice: Supermaxi Grocery Store: Cumbaya, Ecuador

There are two things you may have noticed from the photos that are different than grocery stores you may already be used to: Eggs and Milk. The eggs and the ultra pasteurized milk here are not refrigerated. So if you are looking for those items, check on the regular shelves.

Heading Home

So, after my shopping is done, I take a taxi ride home with my bags of purchases. This way of grocery shopping has just become part of my weekly routine now here in Ecuador.

There is no more hopping in my car to go to the mall to get something I need.  And if I forget to get the item I needed or I couldn’t find it in my weekly shopping trips, I simply do without it. And I save the money on the expenses of owning and maintaining a car as well.

PS: Would you like more ACCURATE, AUTHENTIC and UP TO DATE INFORMATION about ECUADOR?

WORDS TO THRIVE BY FOR WORLD TRAVELERS: FOOTPRINTS IN ECUADOR by Mary Anne Dorward

Screen Shot 2015-06-08 at 2.37.38 pm

Related Links and Posts:

Ecuador: My First Impressions: http://wp.me/p47vLx-1Q

Becoming A World Citizen and Why It’s Important Part One: http://wp.me/p47vLx-c4

Becoming A World Citizen and Why It’s Important Part Two: http://wp.me/p47vLx-eN

The Many Faces Of Ecuador: http://wp.me/p47vLx-d5

Tranquility And The Drama In Your Head: http://wp.me/p47vLx-8Q

Moving To Ecuador: Where Do I Fit In As An American Woman?http://wp.me/p47vLx-2v

  • http://www.maryannedorward.com
  • http://www.wordstothriveby.com
  • Note: All photos in “Footprints in Ecuador: An American Woman’s Life Changing Journey” have been taken by Mary Anne Dorward. All photos and writing on this blog are protected under the U.S. Trademark: Words To Thrive By.  For more information, to schedule an inspirational speech or interview, please contact Mary Anne at ma@maryannedorward.com.
Leave a Reply

