Lao-Tzu said, “If you correct your mind, the rest of your life will fall into place.”

Sunset in Ecuador

Sunset in Ecuador

I am frankly amazed that my blog on my experiences here in Ecuador over the past eight months is now being read in over 50 countries. I had no idea people were so interested in Ecuador or what I have to say about it.

My “Footprints In Ecuador: An American Woman’s Life Changing Journey” blog has been all about my experiences of learning to live here in Ecuador these past eight months.

I won’t lie to you, it’s been rally, really challenging at times. I’m still working my way through culture shock here in Ecuador, understanding my own boundaries and the different cultural boundaries of the native Ecuadorians, learning how to cook what I know and also what great Ecuadorian food there is to learn with the ingredients available here and at times, dealing with my frustration with how slow things can often be balanced with also my tremendous awe of the beauty of living here in this country.

I’ve travelled all over the world for both work and pleasure. It’s hard to describe in words, but there is an amazing generous heartedness of the Ecuadorian people that I have never experienced anywhere in the world.

I wake up every day feeling so incredibly grateful for living here and for what I’m learning not only about Ecuador, but also what I’m learning about myself. It feels like everything I don’t truly need is slowly falling away: my blind spots, my assumptions, my cultural bias’s, my need to be liked and appreciated, my need for my “stuff,” and so many other aspects of myself that are slowly coming into view in my own heart of hearts.

All I can say is that as things fall away, I feel lighter and more free. I am more and more always in a state of loving what I have and being in a continuous state of contentment. Lao-Tzu said, “If you correct your mind, the rest of your life will fall into place.”

I realized recently that in paying close attention to my mind, what I’m learning and embracing all there is to love about this country and it’s people, that the rest of my life has indeed fallen into place.

There is always more to learn and more to experience of course. But it feels great to be where I am right now, in this moment.

Please feel free to share your thoughts here about your own experiences of living in a foreign country or questions you may have about my experience here living in South America.

PS: Would you like more ACCURATE, AUTHENTIC and UP TO DATE INFORMATION about ECUADOR?

WORDS TO THRIVE BY FOR WORLD TRAVELERS: FOOTPRINTS IN ECUADOR by Mary Anne Dorward

Screen Shot 2015-06-08 at 2.37.38 pm

Additional Links:

If you would like to read more of my tales of challenge and fascination about my living in Ecuador, please go to: https://footprintsinecuador.wordpress.com

If you would like to read my very First Impressions Of Ecuador: http://wp.me/47vLx

For more on beachfront land investments in Ecuador go to: http://www.EcuadorBeachfrontProperties.com

For More on the Life and Work of Mary Anne Dorward, please go to: http://www.maryannedorward.com
For Professional Speaking Coaching and Speech Writing, please go to: http://www.myrealvoice.com or for video http://bit.ly/1fmLjuL
For more information, to schedule an inspirational speech or interview, please contact Mary Anne at ma@maryannedorward.com.
Note: All photos in “Footprints in Ecuador™: An American Woman’s Life Changing Journey” have been taken by Mary Anne Dorward unless otherwise credited.
All photos and writing on Footprints in Ecuador ™ and Words To thrive By are a Copyright 2014 by Mary Anne Dorward. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

