Cheapest Places To Travel For Each Month Of The Year

“You’ve heard the myths: Tuesday is the best day to book airfare. Wednesday is the best day to fly. January is the cheapest month to travel. All of them are up for debate, to a certain extent. But according to new data from Booking.com, you can count on getting good hotel values by picking the right destination for the right time of year.

If a cheap vacation is what you’re after, plan your trips based on when hotel rates are proven to be low; then use a service like Hopper or Kayak to find the best-priced plane tickets to round out your plans. You’ll end up with a powerful, money-saving one-two punch—which can save you hundreds for even a quick family getaway. According to Booking.com, that could mean anything from Honolulu in February (hello, warm weather!) to Fort Lauderdale, Florida in May (smack between the spring break crowd and the region’s famously humid summers). Plan it right and you’ll even find significant price dips—up to 56 percent—at hotels in major overseas capitals like London and Rome (you’ll have to read ahead to find out which months are best for each).

So what causes prices to dip so low in certain months? The reasons vary. In some places, you’ll see hotel deals following a big national holiday—often times, one that doesn’t register here in the United States. You can also bet on serious shoulder season values, when the weather in a destination is still great but crowds have gotten a bit thinner. Even bouncing back from major tourism events, like the tennis opens and big-ticket conferences, can create pockets of deep savings during particular months—or even weeks—of the year, if you know to look for them.

Here, your month-by-month guide for great vacation deals in 2016:

http://www.stumbleupon.com/su/1pcfmM/:14GHc63Se:eOb0GEt1/www.travelandleisure.com/slideshows/cheapest-places-to-travel

ONLY INTERESTED IN ECUADOR?

If you came here to this blog really only wanting to know more about Ecuador, feel free to buy my new bookWords To Thrive By for World Travelers: Footprints in Ecuador. My book is available both on Kindle and Paperback formats, though I prefer the kindle as all my photos are in color in that version.
Words To Thrive By for World Travelers: Footprints in Ecuador

Words To Thrive By for World Travelers: Footprints in Ecuador

4 thoughts on “Cheapest Places To Travel For Each Month Of The Year

  1. Thank you for your comments on this blog. I am planning to retire in the next year or so, and for some reason Ecuador keeps coming up in my awareness. I’m a very youthful 70-ish and love to travel, so if you have any words of advice other than what you post, I’d appreciate it.

    Like

    • Hi Patti,

      Thanks for your comments. Have you read my book about Ecuador yet? If not, I would suggest you read that next for a “boots on the ground” description of day to day living in Ecuador.

      Here’s a link to find my book to check it out: (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00Z4J8OZ0/ref=dp-kindle-redirect?ie=UTF8&btkr=1)

      Also, I think in answer to your question, it all depends on whether you feel that you can feel and stay youthful and also address the challenges that living in a Third World country, like Ecuador really still is, with the exception of locations in Ecuador such as Quito and Cuenca.

      Deciding where to live outside of the US depends on many factors, and money tends to be one of the major things that influence many people’s choices.

      Ecuador is not as inexpensive as it used to be when I first arrived in 2013 – with new taxes of things like, 40% on imported US goods that Expats generally would favor in the grocery stores, a $46.00 tax on boxes coming in with goods from outside the country such as from the US. These new taxes would suggest a desire on the governments part to encourage all Ecuadorian residents, Expat or not, to buy Ecuadorian goods. I understand this strategy.

      However, it is becoming increasingly more expensive to live in Ecuador if you thought it was a “cheap retirement country.” Ecuador as a country has been sold to you via places like International Living and The New York Times travel section “Ecuador The Product” as opposed to the real truth, AND when the truth of things such as: day to day living, how much things cost, how increasingly dangerous Ecuador is becoming to “The Have’s” vs “The Have Nots,” no matter where the expat or Ecuadorian is from, increasing and dangerous censorship of the press, etc. All these things are conveniently left out of any article or website in favor of “The Sell” of Ecuador as a “perfect destination” to have everything you already had/or always wanted to have in the US or Canada for less money and better lifestyle.

      I don’t envy the President as he has much to manage with the challenges that come with trying to make your wonderful assets as a country shine while also managing the political unrest growing within the country.It is a complicated territory for any leader. I do believe that he wants the best possible outcome for his country. However, how he or the other Ecuadorian leaders, eventually to get that outcome has many possible options and choices. As I said, it’s very complicated.

      Ecuador has a beautiful tourism potential and all of what is written about how beautiful the Galapagos, and the destinations of extreme sports activities is all quite true and worth visiting and enjoying.

      Day to day living in a still Third World country, however, is more difficult than you realize when you first arrive.

      Issues like clean water and getting very very sick from poorly washed vegetables, even in a major city such as Quito, were among the hardest issues for both my husband and me. Not having ANY water at all delivered in our building, and for sometimes more than two weeks at a time, due to ongoing disputes between neighboring communities Manta and Portoviejo on the coast, became beyond my capacity to accept and endure. Sanitation issues, lack of electricity and increasing mosquitos bearing the new virus ( a new mutation beyond Dengue or Yellow Fever,) which my husband and I both came through the fevers and discomfort of, finally became Just. Too. Hard.

      I gave Ecuador two full years of my life, I wanted to love it and base the rest of my life there. I immersed myself into it, and came to love the people who are big hearted and wonderful people, especially if you speak fluent Spanish like I do. I wrote my book as a “love letter” to this beautiful country and it’s people, hoping I could help attract people who would love it as much as I did. I wanted to help attract more tourism and good people to the country to help it’s economy and promote a sense of interest, exploration and tolerance for South America.

      Day to day living on the Coast of Ecuador, just frankly, became too rural, too toughand increasingly, too dangerous.

      You could choose a place like Cuenca with many thousands of Expats and stay in an enclave of “Gringos” and never immerse yourself in the culture at all, and only ever speak English. But that is not my thing. I wanted to be a part of the beautiful culture of the country. I lectured at the Manta University to bring new ideas and talents I had developed in the US through my business. I learned how to cook Ecuadorian food and fell in love with the Ecuadorian people I became close to. But, finally after two years, I chose to leave.

      I am living in Chile now and it is a First World Country. I am discovering that living in Chile is not that much more expensive than Ecuador now has become. I can find everything I need and want here. I am relieved not having to filter my water three times after I received it in the so called 5 gallon fresh water. I am relieved to have reliable water and also reliable hot water. I am relieved that everything where I now live actually works and functions. I can have the same view of the Pacific Ocean as I had in Ecuador with practically the same cost of living, (perhaps $500.00 more per month overall for rent) and not be afraid to eat the food or drink the water and if I need something I can find it.

      But you can start with my book and read that first before you make your decision.

      http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00Z4J8OZ0/ref=dp-kindle-redirect?ie=UTF8&btkr=1

      I would also really HIGHLY suggest you pick an area of Ecuador (or any other ideas that are coming up in your divine guidance) you want to explore and then go live there for a year before making your decision. We all have culture shock of “first love” of a country and once that wears off, the underlying cracks begin to become evident. If you are OK with those, then (and only then) would I suggest actually packing up all your life and moving.

      Hope this helps. Please let me know if you need any other feedback.

      Warm regards,
      Mary Anne

      Like

      • MaryAnne, Thank you so much for your honesty and clarity. At one time I stayed on Corn Island off the coast of Nicaragua for 3 months, been to Mexico several times, and last year spent a year in Hangzhou, China, studying. (I am an Oriental Medicine Doctor). I had a feeling there were “hidden” issues in possibly Ecuador and other Central and South American countries. I am going to Peru in September with a friend who wants to go to Machu Picchu, so also want to check out that area. Any thoughts?

        Since I have a limited retirement income, I am definitely looking for a less expensive place to live, and yes, received information from International Living raving about all these areas and the cheap prices. However, in the back of my mind I’m asking “what about sanitation (terrible in China!), what about food and water, safety, political unrest, internal cultural disagreements and prejudices,etc.Unfortunately there is no utopia and no matter where you live, (except in some of the larger cities), outside the US there will be issues! The prices quoted by IL and others make me question about location, neighborhoods, etc., and what the real cost is once everything is added in!

        I am traveling to Medellin Colombia on Feb 17-24 with my Spanish teacher and his wife to just “test the waters”. He owns a World Language school and is from Bolivia, his wife is from Medellin. He wants me to consider teaching English as a second language, but not in schools – more in hotels, hospitals, clinics, etc., so those opportunities would probably be in the larger cities. My jury is still out, and that’s why I’m going to Medellin…to see how it feels to me, and if it’s something I really would want to do. Would you happen to know anyone in Medellin?

        I’ve been reading about the huge tax burden that many countries are starting to impose on expats, and my thought is if that’s the case, I can just stay in the US and then just travel! However, I do love being involved in the local culture, foods, traditions, etc.

        I’m glad to hear that you are happier in Chile. I had a patient who retired to Argentina and absolutely loved it. So, who knows…I’m open to the right place.

        I will get your book and appreciate you writing it for people like me who are curious. I’m aware of the “honeymoon” stage, and know that visiting any place – inside or outside the US – and actually living there is a world apart. When you can’t get clean food and water, and feel safe in your environment, it doesn’t matter how beautiful the area! I admire your adventuresome spirit!

        Thank you for taking time to answer my emails.

        Best wishes, Patti

        >

        Like

  2. Dear Patti,

    You are most welcome.

    I must say, I loved reading your comments back. You are truly an adventuresome woman indeed! The the kind of woman I really enjoy knowing!

    I am very excited that you are going to have a chance to visit Medellin. I have heard raves about it on many, many levels. It has I think over 30 Universities and very Old World culture and beauty. You could easily make a good living teaching English as a Native english Speaker. We are in very high demand all over South America so whether you are in Argentina or Colombia, you will find your way. I will be very interested to hear how you enjoy Columbia and Peru.

    I had a friend visit recently from Australia and she had just been to Peru. She suggested that when we go to Macchu Picchu in the future, to do as she did and find a way to stay after 1:00 PM when all the tour groups leave. She had the entire ruins practically all to herself and could wander around and feel the energy there to her hearts content. Hope you can figure out a way to do that too.

    I don’t know any person specifically who lives in Columbia right now but I have spoken to both people who were born there and people who have travelled there and am most interested in seeing it with my own eyes one day in the near future. Gone are the days of the media trying to demonizing Columbia.

    I understand that Columbia has some very good and solid real estate investment opportunities and a lovely culture of people. I am excited to see it.

    Argentina is probably where I will visit next in South America. It is truly a European city and easy to get to from Chile.

    Of course, generally speaking, you always hear things like “Ecuadorians don’t get along with Colombians” and “Chileans don’t get along with the Argentinians” etc. Everyone has their own prejudices and opinions no matter where you go. I think it is always best to do our very best to keep an open mind amongst it all and decide what we think, and from our own experiences personally.

    That’s not so say I suggest we ever be naive about our travels. I always ask first where NOT to go when I arrive in any city as there are always areas you should probably consider off limits. I know this is true in Chile and Ecuador and I have heard the same about Medellin. It’s true everywhere. So be sure to just keep yourself safe wherever you explore.

    Please keep me posted and if you would like to write to me privately, please feel free to use my Words To Thrive By email of maryanne@wordstothriveby.com.

    Warmly,
    Mary Anne

    Like

Leave a Reply

