Things People Never Expected While Traveling Abroad

Screen Shot 2016-02-06 at 11.36.08 AM

 

Things People Never Expected While Traveling Abroad

 

The following are actual real-life experiences of the strangest differences noticed while traveling internationally:

“I lived in Japan for a year. The satellite radio at my school had a channel called ‘Rokki’ that played the Rocky theme song on a loop 24/7.”

~

“Just following the law…I got laughed at by a taxi driver in Romania for putting my seatbelt on…”

~

“Living in Germany I have recently talked to an exchange student from Bangladesh. He was seriously shocked that people would stop at red traffic lights although there were no other cars/pedestrians around. Gave me a good laugh.”

~

“A condiment fee?  Germany, how dare you charge for ketchup?”

~

“What makes it even more astonishing is the complete lack of trash cans. A few years ago I was being touristy in Tokyo. I saw two trash cans in total. Two. For an entire city. And yet the place is fucking spotless.”

~

“Liquid bread” People seem to drink beer all the time in the Czech Republic. Our local guide said that sometimes workers will have a few beers for lunch and then go back to work, calling it “liquid bread” or something like that.

~

“How loud people are in the U.S.”

~

“I come from tiny little Sweden where the loudest thing on the subway is the subway. Walking on the subway in NYC and getting hit by that wall of noise was a real shock. Also, the onions in the U.S. are enormous.

~

“This is silly, but in 2003 I visited Germany and was absolutely blown away that the escalators didn’t start moving until you approached them (like automatic sliding doors). In America they’re always just going. I thought it was genius.”

~

“When ya gotta go…How urinals popped up out of the sidewalks at night in London.”

~

“When I went to America McDonalds had refillable Dr Pepper. I was in heaven.”

~

“When ya gotta go…take II? While in Beijing, saw a middle-aged man in a suit and tie pop a squat in front of some sort of professional building and literally take a shit in the bushes. Was not prepared for that AT ALL.”

~

“Siesta, anyone? In Spain, EVERYTHING is closed for a nap after lunch.”

~

“Shocking When I went to Japan I went to a bathhouse and my leg started spasming violently when I got in a tub. I thought I was having a stroke, but it turns out they have pools with electrical currents to promote longevity. That was literally my most shocking experience overseas.”

~

“Beer in China is sold in bags.”

~

“Oh say can you see? How flags are openly displayed all across American residences.”

~

“True innovation from Walmart When I came to the US, that rotating plastic bag holder at Walmart blew my mind.”

~

“Israeli toilets have two kinds of flushing, one that barely flushes and another that is so strong that it waxes your thighs if you don’t stand up first.”

~

“How do you like them apples? How small all of the fruit was in England. One apple in the US is like two UK apples. I went through a lot of apples.”

~

“Drink up Shocked, and also loving, the complete lack of responsible service of alcohol laws in Bali. Get a bit drunk in a pub in Australia and you risk being cut off. In Bali they will serve you while you’re lying on the floor vomiting, as long as you keep paying.”

~

“In South Korea there is no separate shower in the bathroom. The showerhead sprays directly on the floor and there is a drain in the corner of the room.”

~

“Surprise taxes How price tags in America do not include Taxes!”

~

These comments above were taken from an article Posted Nov 14, by Hannah Poindexter:

Article: http://www.stumbleupon.com/su/9mJY6m/:5c9HaIvt:eKt+KU$Y/www.dose.com/theworld/24393/22-Things-People-Never-Expected-While-Traveling-Abroad

Leave a Reply

